Connect with us


IFFI 53 closes on a high note

The 53rd edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI) Goa came to a glittering close last night.



Union Minister Anurag Singh Thakur and Fauda creator Lior Raz

The 53rd edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI) Goa came to a glittering close last night. Information & Broadcasting Minister Shri Anurag Thakur, Chief Minister of Goa shri Pramod Sawant, Minister of States, Information & Broadcasting, Shri L Murugan, Actors Chiranjeevi, Akshay Kumar, Ayushmann Khurrana, Rana Daggubati, Sharman Joshi, Manushi Chhillar, Esha Gupta and veteran actor Asha Parekh was present at the closing ceremony.

Chiranjeevi was given the Lifetime Achievement Award with a rousing applause by his fans present at the stadium. Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting and Youth Affairs & Sports Anurag Singh Thakur said “IFFI opened up a nuanced world of cinema for audiences across the region, both young and old, new delegates and festival veterans. IFFI not only entertained but also educated us. IFFI tickled our humour and refined their senses”.

Chief Minister of Goa Pramod Sawant stated that the state government strives to provide best necessary arrangements for the film festival every year so that the guest may have a memorable experience and they also endeavour to add new dimensions to the festival every year.

Also read: Varun Dhawan calls Kriti Sanon ‘The Golden Girl’

The veteran actor Asha Parekh said that the release of her first ever film ‘Dil Deke Dekho‘ is till date the best and most memorable moment in her career.  Actor Akshay Kumar spoke about Goa being one of his favourite holiday destination. “Thank you for inviting me to IFFI Goa. I am going to come back to Goa during Christmas again” he said.

Bengali film industry’s leading actor Prasenjit Chatterjee said that everyone looks forward to IFFI as it is a platform for good cinema. “I have come here several times at the film festival”. He said.

Speaking about IFFI, Bahubali famed actor Rana Daggubati aid, “With today’s changing voices, film festivals create the ecosystem for independent voices to thrive.”

List of winners

  • Spanish coming-of-age drama I Have Electric Dreams won the Golden Peacock award,
  • Vahid Mobasheri and Daniela Marin Navarro got best actor and actress awards respectively.
  • Best Director – Nader Saeivar, No End
  • Best Debut Feature Film Of A Director – Asimina Proedrou’s Behind the Haystacks
  • Special Jury Award – Lav Diaz, When The Waves Are Gone
  • Special Mention To A Debut Feature Film of a director – Praveen Kandregula’s Cinema Bandi
  • ICFT UNESCO Gandhi Medal – Payam Eskandar’s Nargesi

Other highlights

  • Akshay Kumar escorted Asha ji to the state when she was felicitated at the closing ceremony
  • Prosenjit sang Pukarta Chala Hoon Mein for Asha Parekh while she blushed and smiled listening to the actor singing for her.
  • Ayushmann Sang a few lines of Aankhan da noor vekh ke for the audiences.