Connect with us


Indian Film Festival of Melbourne 2022: Badhaai Do, Gangubai Kathiwadi, Jai Bhim, The Rapist, Minal Murali and Mumbai Diaries bag the top nominations this year

Helmed by a prestigious jury, the award ceremony will take place at the iconic Palais Theatre in Melbourne on 14th August



Indian Film Festival of Melbourne 2022 nominations

The Indian Film Festival Of Melbourne, one of the biggest international Indian film festivals outside of the country, has just announced its nominations for its annual awards ceremony. The festival, which is presented by the Victorian Government, is an annual festival that takes place in Melbourne, Australia, and showcases the best films from India and the subcontinent. In its 13th edition to be held this month, the IFFM 2022 is making its comeback for its physical version of the festival, after the festival has been solely virtual for the last two years. This year the festival starts on 12-20 August in the lesson and will also have especially virtual programming between 13-30 August for Australian audiences. This year there are over 100 films across 23 languages being screened at the festival.

The Awards night is all set to take place on 14th of August in Melbourne. The awards will recognize best in cinematic talent from across the Indian subcontinent across the formats of feature films and will also honor acclaimed OTT series. This year’s nominations will see films and content which were released between August 2021 to April 2022.

Also read: Team of Raksha Bandhan takes Dubai by storm; Akshay Kumar, Aanand L Rai and cast promote the movie in style!

This year’s big nominees include the starring leads and filmmakers / producers of films like Jai Bhim, The Rapist, Gangubai Kathiwadi, 83, Badhaai Do, Sardar Udham amongst others. Indie films nominations have acclaimed films including Pedro, Once Upon a Time in Calcutta, Fair Folk amongst others, while Urf, Ayena, Ladies only are some of the Best Docu nominees. Winners of Best Film, Best Indie Film and Best Documentary each win state of the art cameras from Black Magic Design apart from the award. Another key highlight is that the Best Film winner automatically gets a nomination nod under the Best Asian Film category at the annual prestigious AACTA (Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards). Keeping with the evolving times, in 2021 IFFM introduced streaming platforms too as categories for awards. This year too those awards will be included with Best Series, Best Actor in a Series and Best Actress in a Series. In these categories, Mumbai Diaries, Aranyak, Mai and Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein are leading the nominations.

The IFFM has had the privilege of some of the biggest Australian film talents on the jury panel. This year’s festival jury boasts of jury members that will include names like global award-winning film editor Jill Bilcock, one of Australia’s renowned actors Vince Colosimo, multi award winning director Geoffrey Wright and multi award winning filmmaker Nadia Tass.

Also read: Chrome Pictures celebrate the wrap up of their next film ‘Trial Period’ featuring Manav Kaul and Genelia Deshmukh



  1. 83 / Hindi
  2. Badhaai Do / Hindi
  3. Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi
  4. Jai Bhim / Tamil
  5. Minnal Murali / Malayalam
  6. Paka (River of Blood) / Malayalam
  7. Sardar Udham / Hindi
  8. The Rapist / English, Hindi


  1. Boomba Ride / Mishing
  2. Dug Dug / Hindi
  3. Jaggi / Punjabi
  4. Once Upon a Time in Calcutta / Bengali
  5. Pedro / Kannada
  6. Shankar’s Fairies / Hindi
  7. Shoebox / Hindi
  8. Fairy Folk / Hindi, English


  1. Gopal Hegde, Pedro / Kannada
  2. Rajkummar Rao, Badhaai Do / Hindi
  3. Ramnish Chaudhary, Jaggi / Punjabi
  4. Ranveer Singh, 83 / Hindi
  5. Suriya, Jai Bhim / Tamil
  6. Tovino Thomas, Minnal Murali / Malayalam
  7. Vicky Kaushal, Sardar Udham / Hindi
  8. Abhishek Bachchan – Dasvi / Hindi


  1. Alia Bhatt, Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi
  2. Bhumi Pednekar, Badhaai Do / Hindi
  3. Deepika Padukone, Gehraiyaan / Hindi
  4. Konkona Sen Sharma, The Rapist / English, Hindi
  5. Lijomol Jose, Jai Bhim / Tamil
  6. Shefali Shah, Jalsa / Hindi
  7. Sreelekha Mitra, Once Upon A Time In Calcutta / Bengali
  8. Vidya Balan, Jalsa / Hindi


  1. Anmol Sidhu, Jaggi / Punjabi
  2. Aparna Sen, The Rapist / Hindi
  3. Kabir Khan, 83 / Hindi
  4. Pan Nalin, Chhello Show (Last Film Show) / Gujarati
  5. Sanjay Leela Bhansali Gangubai Kathiawadi / Hindi
  6. Shoojit Sircar, Sardar Udham / Hindi
  7. Suresh Triveni, Jalsa / Hindi
  8. T.J. Gnanavel, Jai Bhim / Tamil


  1. A Night of Knowing Nothing
  2. Ayena (Mirror)
  3. Kicking Balls
  4. Ladies Only
  5. Urf (A.K.A)


  1. Joyland / Pakistan
  2. Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom / Bhutan
  3. No Land’s Man / Bangladesh
  4. Rehana Maryam Noor / Bangladesh
  5. The Newspaper / Sri Lanka


  1. Mohit Raina, Mumbai Diaries 26/11
  2. Parambrata Chatterjee, Aranyak
  3. Varun Mitra, Guilty Minds
  4. Tahir Raj Bhasin, Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein
  5. Dhruv Sehgal, Little Things Final Season


  1. Konkona Sensharma, Mumbai Diaries 26/11
  2. Sakshi Tanwar, Mai
  3. Madhuri Dixit, Fame Game
  4. Mithila Palkar, Little Things Final Season
  5. Raveena Tandon, Aranyak
  6. Shriya Pilgaonkar, Guilty Minds


  1. Aranyak
  2. Mumbai Diaries 26/11
  3. Fame Game
  4. Mai
  5. Little Things Final Season
  6. Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein